A-la-une-Tobiasse-Ou-sont-les-chemins-que-nos-justes-ont-foules-1975

WHAT MICHEL ESTADES SAYS:

Théo Tobiasse is a major, internationally-renowned 20th-century artist. Throughout his career, his oeuvre never ceased to evoke his family story, marked by the tumultuous onward march of History. His work is truly moving.

Biography:

Théo Tobiasse youth

Theo Tobiasse was born in Jaffa, His parents came from Lithuania, hoping to find the Promised Land. Material difficulties soon forced the family to return to Lithuania and then leave for Paris in 1931, where his father, a typographer, found work in a Russian printing house. Theo Tobiasse showed an aptitude for drawing and painting very early on. During a visit to the 1937 World’s Fair in Paris, he was amazed by Raoul Dufy “La Fée Électricité”. The death of his mother in June 1939, followed by the outbreak of the Second World War, the wearing of the yellow star, and his rejection from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs turned his life upside down. For two years, his family was forced to live in hiding in an apartment in Paris, narrowly escaping the Velodrome d’Hiver round-up in July 1942. After the liberation, he became a graphic designer in Paris. In 1950, he obtained the French nationality and moved to Nice, where he continued his advertising career.

Théo Tobiasse. Provencal painter

He settled in Saint-Paul-de-Vence and discovered the fascinating lunar landscape of the Saint-Barnabé plateau near Col de Vence. It was his first painting. Self-taught, he studied the technique of the great masters in museums during his travels. His first paintings were exhibited at the Salon des Peintres du Sud-Est in 1960. In 1961 he won the Young Mediterranean Painting Prize, then the Dorothy-Gould Prize in 1961. He then decided to devote himself exclusively to the arts. Over the years, he had many international exhibitions in Paris, Geneva, Montreal, Tokyo, London, Kyiv, Los Angeles, and New York, which hosted his first solo exhibition in 1968.

Theo Tobiasse. The work of Theo Tobiasse

Theo Tobiasse’s work is inspired by exile, motherly love, childhood memories in Lithuania, and the Bible. The celebration of the senses, color, music, and travel blend into a poetic magma against the backdrop of his favorite cities, Venice, New York, and Jerusalem. Words and phrases charged with emotion punctuate his work, not to explain it but to extend it. His oils on canvas, mixed techniques, lithographs, and drawings are sought after by many collectors. Théo Tobiasse has also created sculptures, stained glass, pottery, engravings, and monumental works. Since 2000, he has been permanently exhibited on the four sites of the Estades Gallery, in Paris, Lyon, Toulon, and Baden-Baden.

Théo Tobiasse, the price of the artist’s works…

Buy or sell an artwork by Théo Tobiasse

You wish to sell or buy a work by Théo Tobiasse? Here are some options.
You can purchase an artwork at the best price during a public auction, buy in lots, or series. However, this process requires a serious commitment on your part.

A private sale between individuals allows for a more personal and confidential transaction with a gallery owner or a professional art expert. They will guide you through the process. Their expertise and tailor-made advice will help you complete this exceptional purchase.

The Estades Gallery brings you the opportunity to acquire major works by Théo Tobiasse, whether print, drawing, original signed lithograph, oil on canvas. Beyond buying and selling art, the Estades gallery will offer you expert advice and guide you in your art investment, whether you are an enthusiastic amateur or a dedicated collector.

But beyond buying and selling art, the Estades gallery offers its customers the support and art environment they need.

Théo Tobiasse. Authentication

Do you own an artwork signed by Théo Tobiasse? The signature is the first step in its authentication. Unfortunately, “signed” and “authenticated” do not necessarily add up because a signature can be reproduced.

Many artists, like Théo Tobiasse, have their signature forged. A certificate of authenticity is required to sell the work on the art market and get the best price. An expert specializing in the artists’ work or a gallery owner needs to sign the certificate of authenticity.

Theo Tobiasse. The value of his work

The value of an artist or his work is a subject that fascinates potential art buyers, inquisitive individuals, and art lovers. Why do some contemporary artists such as Théo Tobiasse sell some work for a few hundred euros while others can be valued at several thousand euros?
When buying and selling art, it is sometimes challenging for an inexperienced person to understand the price differences

Aesthetic or economic criteria, number of exhibitions, many parameters contribute to the value of an artist. The value of a contemporary artist like Theo Tobiasse is not only based on aesthetics. However, it includes other variables such as the number of exhibitions, prestige, and notoriety of the places where the artist exhibited, the number, and the name of his collectors. It is built over time. The gallery owner contributes to the art promotion of the artist, notably by supporting the artist, talking about his work, sharing the knowledge he has of it, buying and selling his work as if it is a significant contribution to the history of art.

Théo Tobiasse. Appraisal of an artwork by Théo Tobiasse

It is challenging to set a price on an artwork based on the value of the artist.

You do not set a price on a steel or bronze sculpture by an artist like Sacha Sosno as you would estimate the price of a coffee cup. Wanting of any practical aspect, how can we evaluate an art object, a talent, an emotion, an aura? Some will conclude that the value of a work of art is, therefore, relative and subjective. However, there are also specific realities helping estimate the work of a contemporary artist like Sacha Sosno. These are very detailed:

  • Material cost.
  • Technique
  • Market in which the artist operates
  • Aesthetics
  • The artist’s career path
  • Format
  • Completion time
  • Complexity

An oil on canvas by Theo Tobiasse sells between €7,000 and €35,000.

See some examples of works by Théo TOBIASSE available for sale
See the work of Modern Masters exhibited at the Estades Gallery
Théo TOBIASSE
Born avril 1927
Died novembre 2012
Israël

Would you like to purchase an artwork by this artist?

A-la-une-Tobiasse-Ou-sont-les-chemins-que-nos-justes-ont-foules-1975

Théo Tobiasse, le mot de Michel Estades :

Théo Tobiasse est un artiste majeur du XXe siècle dont la renommée est internationale. Il n’aura eu de cesse, tout au long de sa carrière, de faire vivre au travers de ses tableaux les réminiscences de son histoire familiale dont le destin a croisé les fracas de l’Histoire. Son œuvre n’en est que plus bouleversante.

Biographie de l’artiste Théo Tobiasse :

La jeunesse de Théo Tobiasse

Théo Tobiasse est né à Jaffa en Israël. Ses parents qui venaient de Lituanie espéraient y trouver la terre promise. Très vite des difficultés matérielles obligent la famille à retourner en Lituanie, puis à repartir pour Paris en 1931 où son père, typographe, trouve du travail dans une imprimerie russe. Théo Tobiasse montre très tôt des dispositions pour le dessin et la peinture, et lors d’une visite à l’Exposition Universelle de 1937 à Paris, il est émerveillé par La Fée Électricité de Raoul Dufy. La mort de sa mère en juin 1939, suivie du déclenchement de la seconde guerre mondiale, le port de l’étoile jaune et son inscription à l’Ecole nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs refusée pour raisons raciales, bouleversent sa vie. Il est contraint de vivre caché avec sa famille pendant 2 ans dans un appartement à Paris, échappant de justesse à la rafle du Vélodrome d’Hiver en juillet 1942. À la libération, il est graphiste à Paris. En 1950, il obtient la nationalité française et s’installe à Nice, où il poursuit sa carrière dans la publicité.

Théo Tobiasse : le peintre de Provence

Très vite, il part vivre à Saint-Paul-de-Vence où il fait la découverte fascinante du paysage lunaire du plateau de Saint-Barnabé, au col de Vence. Ce sera sa première toile. Autodidacte, il étudie la technique des grands maîtres dans les musées lors de ses voyages. Ses premiers tableaux sont exposés au Salon des peintres du Sud-Est en 1960. Il remporte en 1961 le Prix de la Jeune peinture méditerranéenne, puis obtient le Prix Dorothy-Gould en 1961. Il décide alors de se consacrer exclusivement aux arts plastiques. Au fur et à mesure des années, de nombreuses expositions lui sont consacrées dans le monde entier : à Paris, Genève, Montréal, Tokyo, Londres, Kiev, Los Angeles, et New-York qui accueillit sa première exposition personnelle en 1968.

Les œuvres de Théo Tobiasse

L’œuvre de Théo Tobiasse est imprégnée des thèmes de l’exil, de la femme mère-amante, des réminiscences de l’enfance en Lituanie, et de la Bible. L’exultation des sens et de la couleur, la musique, les voyages se mélangent en un magma poétique sur fond de Venise, New York et Jérusalem, ses villes de prédilection. Les mots, les phrases chargées d’émotion, viennent toujours ponctuer son œuvre, non pour l’expliquer mais pour la prolonger. Ses huiles sur toile, techniques mixtes, lithographies, et dessins sont recherchés par de nombreux collectionneurs.  Théo Tobiasse a également réalisé des sculptures, vitraux, poteries, gravures, ainsi que des œuvres monumentales. Il est exposé en permanence depuis l’année 2000 sur les 4 sites de la Galerie Estades, à Paris, Lyon, Toulon, et Baden-Baden (Allemagne).

Théo Tobiasse, le prix des œuvres de l’artiste…

Acheter ou vendre une œuvre de l’artiste Théo Tobiasse

Vous souhaitez mettre en vente ou acquérir une œuvre de Théo Tobiasse ? Les ventes privées entre particuliers vous permettent des transactions plus feutrées et plus confidentielles. Les ventes aux enchères sont appréciées car elles présentent l’occasion de se procurer une œuvre d’art à des prix très intéressants ou même d’acheter des œuvres en lot, mais c’est une démarche qui demande de votre part une grande disponibilité.

Les ventes auprès de galeristes professionnels et véritables experts d’art qui vous accompagnerons dans cet achat si particulier avec un œil passionné et de vrais conseils sur mesure. Estampe, dessin, lithographie, huile sur toile, gouache, aquarelle, pastel, sculpture, la galerie Estades propose à ses clients passionnés d’art la possibilité des œuvres majeures de certains artistes contemporains comme Théo Tobiasse. Mais surtout, au-delà même d’une vente ou d’un achat d’art, la galerie Estades vous propose un véritable échange autour de l’art et un réel accompagnement dans l’investissement d’art.

Théo Tobiasse : et l’authentification de l’œuvre ?

Vous possédez une œuvre originale de Théo Tobiasse qui arbore sa signature ? Vous voilà en bon chemin vers une authentification. La signature est effectivement un élément clé dans le cadre d’une authentification mais attention, celle-ci ne garantit pas obligatoirement une authentification. Pourquoi ? Parce que les signatures des artistes sont autant reproductibles que leurs œuvres.

Nombre d’artistes modernes et contemporains comme Théo Tobiasse font l’objet de contrefaçons. Pour vendre l’œuvre sur le marché de l’art, il vous faut un certificat d’authenticité ainsi obtenir la meilleure cote. Un expert spécialisé de l’artiste, un commissaire-priseur ou un galeriste professionnel peuvent être à l’origine de ce document.

Théo Tobiasse et la cote de l’artiste

Tout acheteur potentiel d’art, tout curieux ou passionné d’art finit par s’intéresser éventuellement à la cote des artistes et de leurs œuvres d’art. Pourquoi certains artistes contemporains comme Théo Tobiasse vendent leurs œuvres quelques centaines d’euros tandis que d’autres œuvres peuvent être évaluées à plusieurs milliers d’euros ? Si le domaine de l’achat et de la vente d’art est un arcane obscur pour vous, il peut être difficile de bien comprendre les prix des œuvres de certains artistes.

Critères esthétiques ou économiques, nombre d’expositions des artistes… beaucoup de paramètres sont passés en revue par les experts. Mais ce qui fait la cote d’un artiste contemporain comme Théo Tobiasse, ce ne sont pas seulement les critères esthétiques, d’autres rentrent en considération dans l’équation comme le nombre d’expositions auxquelles l’artiste a participé, le prestige et la notoriété des lieux où l’artiste a été exposé, le nombre et le nom de ses collectionneurs… C’est sur le long terme que se construit la cote d’un artiste comme Théo Tobiasse. Le rôle du galeriste dans tout ça ? Contribuer à l’évolution de cette cote notamment en soutenant cet artiste, en parlant de son œuvre, en partageant les connaissances qu’il en a, en achetant ses œuvres et en les revendant avec un morceau de ce qui fera l’Histoire de l’Art…

Théo Tobiasse : estimation d’une œuvre originale

Ce n’est pas facile de fixer un prix sur une œuvre d’art en prenant en compte la cote d’une œuvre. Vous l’aurez compris, on ne fixe pas un prix sur une huile sur toile d’un artiste comme Théo Tobiasse comme on estimerait le prix d’une lampe. Dénué de tout aspect pratique, comment évaluer un objet d’art dans sa capacité à dégager un talent, une émotion, une aura ? Certains jugeront que la valeur d’une œuvre d’art est par conséquent relative et subjective. Seulement il y a également certaines réalités à prendre en compte lorsqu’on fait l’estimation d’une œuvre d’un artiste contemporain comme Théo Tobiasse, et celles-ci sont bien concrètes :

  • Le coût du matériel.
  • La technique employée
  • Le marché dans lequel l’artiste évolue
  • La qualité visuelle
  • Le parcours de l’artiste
  • Le format
  • Le temps de travail
  • La complexité du sujet

Concernant les œuvres de Théo Tobiasse et à titre d’exemple, une huile sur toile se vendra entre 7 000 et 35 000 euros.

Voir quelques exemples d’œuvres de Théo TOBIASSE disponibles à la vente
Voir les Maîtres Modernes exposés par la Galerie Estades
Théo TOBIASSE
Né(e) en avril 1927
Décédé(e) en novembre 2012
Israël

Vous souhaitez acquérir
une œuvre de cet artiste ?